Prawn Gyozas

DSC_2243

Gah. I started a big, deep post about how I’ve been contemplating my future lately but I think it was a bit too heavy for an easy Sunday arvo. Instead I’d like to tell you about a lovely fellow who brightened my day today.

I’d gone into the city this morning to attend a university open day (which was very worthwhile by the way) and decided to get the bus home as the skies had turned to a dreary grey. The bus pulled up and the driver welcomed those boarding with a cheery greeting bursting with exuberance. I think some people thought he was a bit weird which I found a little sad, but I was heartened when upon offering him a tentative smile, he commended me on my beam which, naturally grew in the glow of such praise.

As the bus meandered along its journey, several passengers sneezed at various intervals to which the kindly bus driver bellowed a loud bless you (he didn’t fail to respond to a single sneeze, such an attentive bless youer he was). My stop approached and I toddled up to the front and bid him farewell. He told me to keep flashing my beautiful smile and then with a hydraulic hiss of the doors, he was off.

Now anyone who knows me would know I’m not the smiliest person, I’m not one of those people who wanders about with a grin plastered on my face. My natural face is definitely set in a more, well serious pose. But after getting off that bus, I smiled all the way home. No, I don’t have a crush on my bus driver – I think it’s just more a case of positive energy attracts positive energy. And sometimes it’s as simple as a fellow human going out of their way to be lovely to strangers. I really took something from that, thanks happy bus driver for brightening my day. And that’s my story.

DSC_2234

DSC_2229If you want something that’s easy, and will bring joy to others, you could make these gyozas. Upon discovering these pockets of sunshine many moons ago, I’ve been a faithful convert and love them for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Ok – I’ve never had them for breakfast but I’m sure they’d be great. Gyozas are pretty much pan fried dumplings that you fry lightly first so they get a nice crispy bottom, then you add a little water to steam them. The result is a tasty little package that’s both crispy and chewy, and you will find yourself popping one after the other into your mouth without abandon. Just like you may choose to vary the fillings, your condiment options can also suit according to your mood. I’ve recently discovered black vinegar and chose to use it as a source of dark pools for my little dumplings to swim in. I also like to serve it with some chilli in oil, as found in this recipe here. These aren’t hard, once you get a bit of practice you’ll be throwing them together in no time and everyone will be delighted in your folded offerings.

DSC_2253

Prawn Gyozas

Makes 20

200 grams green prawns, roughly chopped

1 cup cabbage, shredded

3 tablespoons chives, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

3 tablespoons coriander, chopped

1 teaspoon soy sauce

1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

Pinch of pepper

20 gow gee wrappers

1 tablespoons vegetable oil

8 tablespoons water

Put the prawns, cabbage, chives, garlic, coriander, soy, sesame oil and pepper in a small food processor and blend briefly until you a rough paste (take care not to process too much).

I find it easier if I peel apart the gow gee wrappers and have them all separated and laid out ready to pick up. Place about a teaspoon of the mixture on one half of a gow gee wrapper. Dip your finger in water and run it around the edge of the wrapper then fold it over, cinching the edges to seal the filling. Repeat with the remaining wrappers.

I then cooked these in two batches of ten in a medium frypan. Heat a nonstick frypan to a high heat with half the vegetable oil. Place the dumplings in and cook for about two minutes (you can give the pan a gentle shake every now and then but don’t turn the dumplings).

Add half of the water and reduce the heat to low. Cover with a tightfitting lid so the dumplings can steam. Cook for about six minutes. Remove from heat and serve with your choice of sauce.

DSC_2261

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment